Only 3 more days until I get to use my compound bow for the first time! I felt a little unprepared, so I thought it would be important to learn about proper archery form and how to determine what my dominant eye is.

In order to do this, I checked out Youtube! There are SO many videos of people teaching archery tips, so it was hard to choose. I came across Howcast which is a youtube channel that posts the most random videos, but they are all informative and get straight to the point!

I began by determining what my dominant eye was, and I am right eye dominant. Learn which of your eye’s is dominant here.

Next, I learned about proper stance. I have practiced holding my bow in resting position and I now know how to put it from a resting to ready to anchor position. I watched quite a few videos on archery form, but I found this one the most useful. I really enjoyed how someone was doing the explaining of how to hold it, while the other person demonstrated what to do.

Screen Shot 2016-01-20 at 8.32.41 AM

Check out my blog next week to see me in action and using the bow for the first time!

