This past weekend I had the chance to get some training with archery. I learned so many things about myself, how I learn, and what I need to improve on.

Recording myself allowed me to review my archery form and stance. I will be able to compare my progress every time I practice. Even though I watched some starter videos online, I got my boyfriend to help me out. I learned 3 things throughout this practice session:

  1. Do not take up archery in the winter- your hands will freeze!
  2. TRY to be patient with your teacher.
  3. Do not practice the day after you cut and haul trees- your arms will be sore!

Above is my stance. The first photo is of the first time I shot at the target. My form was not correct; my feet were not apart enough and I did not pull the bowstring back far enough. The middle photo is me at the end of my practice with a much better form. The last photo is me getting some “proper form” lessons from Brody.

To begin, I had trouble pulling the arrow all the way back, I thought I was so weak! I found out the draw weight was too high so I turned it down and it was easier to pull back. I thought that learning the sport of archery would be easy to catch onto, but I need to do a lot more research and learning to become an expert.

If you have any tips or tricks for me, please let me know!

 

 

 

 

 

 

