Who knew hitting a target could be so difficult? I have only had archery practice once, but I thought that it is important to start actually aiming at something for safety purposes. Before I practiced hitting a target, I checked out a few things on the internet first.

Screen Shot 2016-02-03 at 9.57.06 PMRecently, Whitney Czerwonka commented on my blog and recommended I check out Feedly for archery blogs. I did so, and found some relevant blogs to my learning experience, including Archery Talk and Archery 360. I discovered an interesting article that highlights 3 mistakes archers make. I need to remember to stay put, anchor myself, and breathe deeply!

 

Next, I checked out youtube for videos on archery accuracy and I found Sean from outdoor adventures. This is what he taught me:Screen Shot 2016-02-03 at 10.02.04 PM

  • keep muscles in the palm relaxed and have a relaxed grip
  • make sure bow poundage is not too high at full draw
  • don’t tense the shoulder, neck and back muscles
  • look right at the target and find anchor point
  • don’t move your head around and be consistent

Critique:

  • all information was new and valuable to my learning
  • Sean talks quick and to the point, and shows real life demonstrations
  • I would have liked to see him shoot at the target

Check out my target shootingI felt a lot more comfortable shooting the bow this time. My aim is shooting to the left for some reason, so I will need to learn why. On the other hand, it is good that all of my arrows are hitting the same place as this shows I am not moving my head and I’m being consistent.

 Have you ever struggled learning a new sport or skill? What was the most challenging part to overcome?

 

