Does anyone know what it means to have a golden bow, just like the one I have been practicing with? As I was practicing this weekend with my boyfriend, I learned that the golden bow is earned- you can’t just go out and buy one. I thought it was just a random bow he gave me to use! Comment on my blog to guess how the bow is earned. I will let you know next week.

Screen Shot 2016-01-24 at 9.21.10 PM
The golden bow.

Anyway… I needed a recap on shooting at archery targets. Last time I practiced, my aim was hitting the same place, but it wasn’t towards the center of the target where I would have liked it. I also wanted to understand what would change in my shooting technique if I increased the draw weight of my bow as it seemed too easy to pull back.

I have found Youtube really helpful during my learning experience journey. However, finding videos to help me this time was more difficult. I found a lot of bad ones, but some helpful ones.

This is what I found:

Michael Peart from  Sports and Outdoors recommended using a sight on the bow for better aim. This is something I would like to try during my learning project- he taught me how to use a sight and a release aid.

Al Lizzio from Howcast taught me that at a closer target, the position of my fingers on the string determines where the arrow will hit. Where you place your fingers on the bow string determines the angle the arrow will go. I took his advice and wanted to try putting my fingers further down the string and practice shooting at a closer distance. I really enjoy his videos; they have helped me learn other archery techniques in the past.

Ike’s Outdoors taught me how to determine proper draw weight. Try holding the bow string back (with an arrow for safety!) for 1 minute. If you can hold it comfortably, it is the correct draw weight. A low poundage draw weight results in more accuracy rather than me shooting a high poundage draw weight that is difficult for me to pull back.

Please check out my video of what I accomplished this week!

Screen Shot 2016-03-06 at 8.53.10 PM
Click on the video link above!
