Lately I have been focusing on hitting a target in archery. I wanted to expand on this by shooting at different ranges. This week I shot at a range of 10 yards and 15 yards. I hope to get my target on point at 15 and then further increase my distance. I had a little competition with my boyfriend and he could shoot at 40 yards what I could shoot at 10 yards…I have a little practicing to do!

I used a range finder to measure my distance. This is a great tool to use. Its handy, accessible and very simple.

Screen Shot 2016-03-15 at 6.41.26 PM
Range Finder 

Before practicing, I looked at some tips for shooting at a long range. I learned from Cobra Archery  that if you are shooting at long ranges, you need to have proper grip and to follow through until the arrow hits the target. I also revisited my Feedly account and learned more from a very valuable and reliable source that I have used throughout my learning project journey, Archery360. It taught me about the different ranges for different types of archery. In indoor field archery, most archers shoot at a range of 20 yards. However, outdoor field archery’s shoot at a variety of ranges, from 10 yards all the way up to 80 yards. I eventually want to try 3-D archery at an outdoor range, which would give me the opportunity to shoot at different distances.

On Youtube, the archer talked about trying to shoot at longer distances when practicing so when it comes time to shoot for success, you can be confident in your ability to shoot because you will be closer to the target.

This is how my practicing went at different ranges this week:

Check out the video of me practicing  here. As you can see by my second shot, I am pretty excited I hit the center of the target! Let me know if you have had any experience with archery and shooting at different ranges.

 

