I got to experience my first time coding this morning, and I actually really enjoyed it. I got a little frustrated at times, but it taught me a lot about the importance of coding and the benefits it can have for people of all ages.

I chose to practice code on Code.org through learning the Hour of Code. SO many people are talking about Minecraft these days, I thought I would try it out because I really had no idea what it was about. I quickly learned how to do a Screencast from Youtube, and I recorded my process! I would recommend watching it only if you are bored because I made a few mistakes shearing my sheep and cutting down trees…whoops!

Although the process seemed a little intimidating at first, I would definitely do it again. As I was doing this task, I thought back to a video I watched.  What Most School’s Don’t Teach It highlights a lot of well-known people who learned how to code and how it has impacted their lives. The most important message I learned from this video is coding teaches you how to think. 

I looked up some benefits of why students should learn to code.

Screen Shot 2016-03-24 at 10.33.53 AM
Source

I found a CBC education article that talked about Why Kids Should Learn to Code. Something that stood out to me was that this is an ideal opportunity for students to learn about technology in our rapidly growing technological world. A quote that stood out in particular was this:

Screen Shot 2016-03-24 at 10.46.53 AM.png

This is a skill that children can learn before they can read and write! What a great way to bring educational technology into these children’s lives.

I believe that coding allows for endless possibilities. Students can learn to develop problem-solving skills, understand the real world, and become more involved in technology which could possibly be a future career.

Screen Shot 2016-03-24 at 10.52.56 AM.png
Code.org

I am wondering if coding can be used within the curriculum. If you have any ideas, I would love to know!

