I am only a beginning archer. I know I have much more to learn and I have so much opportunity for growth. I thought it would be interesting to hear a perspective from an archer that has been shooting for a long time. I decided to talk with a friend Bailey Steciuk. She began shooting at young age of 3 (with rubber arrows), and has now been doing the sport for 15 years.

IMG_0265
Bailey Steciuk

These were some aspects of archery that I wanted to discover from a passionate archer:

  1. What has been the most rewarding thing about archery?

A: I really like the opportunities to travel to different places. Being on Team Canada was pretty great too. Team Canada is the top 16 shooters from all of Canada in grades 4-12. Another great feeling is having younger children look up to me and want to shoot like me when they get older.

Screen Shot 2016-03-28 at 8.21.05 AM
Bailey shooting for Team Canada at NASP World Tournament.
  1. What has been your biggest challenge?

A: Probably nerves… I guess the only way to overcome them is with more practice and experience in competitions.

  1. How do you continue to find interest in the sport and challenge yourself?

A: I constantly increase my goals, always trying to do better than the time before. In archery competitions, I aim for a higher score each time.

  1. Do you think archery has helped you in other areas of your life?

A: Math. Especially when I was younger, it really helped me with my adding when I had to add up scores. Its also helped me concentrate and focus a lot more. Archery has taught me dedication and commitment.

  1. Is archery an inclusive sport? Why would you recommend it to others?

A: Everyone can do archery. I would recommend it to others because of the experiences it provides. You can travel to a lot of places, and meet new people who are interested in the same thing as you. Archery is an easy sport to get in to and it’s relatively inexpensive.

Due to Bailey succeeding in a variety of events, I thought it would be interesting to see if her identity showed up online. Based off of my research, I learned another way we can form our positive digital identities- through our hobbies, interests and sports that we participate in. This is great for students to understand. Bailey has already begun her positive digital identity online before graduating. Check it out here:

This week I have learned that archery is a sport that provides numerous opportunities beyond just shooting a bow. Archery is a sport that you can constantly set goals and improve on. Archery is great for people to develop social interaction, travel to different places, and build commitment and concentration.

